Skip to main content

Our Healthcare Advisory Board

Driving adoption and realising the benefits of GS1 standards across healthcare

The Healthcare Advisory Board is made up of key decision makers and influencers within the NHS. It helps drive the adoption – and realisation of the benefits – of GS1 standards across healthcare.

Chaired by Professor Duncan Eaton, the board’s aim is to improve patient safety, reduce regulatory non-compliance and realise valuable cost savings from procurement efficiencies across the NHS – through the adoption and implementation of GS1 barcoding standards.

Healthcare Advisory Board members
  • Professor Duncan Eaton, Chairman of GS1 UK Healthcare Advisory Board and past CEO of NHS PASA
  • Rt Hon Lord Philip Hunt PC OBE, President of GS1 UK
  • Professor Dame Sue Hill, Chief Scientific Officer at NHS England
  • Professor Sir Terence Stephenson, Nuffield Professor of Child Health at University College London, and Chair of Health Research Authority
  • Sir Ron Kerr, Chair at NHS Providers
  • Graeme Tunbridge, Director of Devices at the UK Medicines and Healthcare Products Regulatory Agency
  • Lorna Wilkinson, Director of Nursing at Salisbury NHS Foundation Trust
  • Keith Jones, Clinical Director of Surgery at University Hospitals of Derby and Burton NHS Foundation Trust
  • Ray Hodgkinson CBE, Director of Public Affairs at British Healthcare Trades Association (BHTA)
  • Iain Davidson, Clinical Director and Chief Pharmacist at Royal Cornwall Hospitals NHS Trust
  • Andrew Raynes, Director of IM & T and Chief Information Officer at Royal Papworth Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
  • David Lawson, Chief Procurement Officer at Guy's and St. Thomas' Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  • Ann Slee, Associate CCIO (medicines) at NHS England
  • Alan Foster, Chief Executive Officer Lead at Cumbria and North East STP/ICS
  • Nick Thomas, Deputy Chief Executive at University Hospitals Plymouth NHS Trust
  • Professor Andrew Goddard, President of Royal College of Physicians
  • Lee Bond, Chief Finance Officer at Hull University Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust
  • Sara Ford, director of customer and strategy, NHS Supply Chain
  • James Crampton, medical director of quality and safety, University Hospitals of Derby and Burton NHS Foundation Trust